The Victorian Association of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapists

About the VAPP

The VAPP was founded in 1975 and became an incorporated Association in 1992.  The VAPP is a not-for-profit organisation and a registered charity.  VAPP members are all qualified psychoanalytic psychotherapists.

The VAPP is a member of the Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy Association of Australasia (PPAA), which was founded in 1981.  The PPAA has six member organisations: four Australian State-based psychoanalytic psychotherapy organisations, one New Zealand association, and the Child Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy Association of Australia.

The PPAA is a member organisation of the Australasian Confederation of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapies.

All VAPP members are obliged to have knowledge of, and to work within the VAPP Code of Ethics and the VAPP Constitution and Regulations.


 Aims of the VAPP include:

  • To conduct the training of psychotherapists and encourage the maintenance of high standards in their practice.
  • To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and information about Psychotherapy.
  • To encourage and promote research in Psychotherapy.
  • To establish and uphold the Association Code of Ethics as a guideline for the practice of psychotherapy.
  • To maintain liaison with other organisations with similar aims.

 The Association conducts its own four year training program in Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy, and a one year Introductory Course in Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy.

From time to time VAPP members offer seminars, short courses, supervision groups, or infant observation groups.


Ms Dana Branda-Pawlaczyk  ( President)

Ms Vicki O’Dwyer  ( Secretary)

Ms Ann Cebon

Dr Gabriel Feiler

Ms Rhonda Attwood

Diversity Statement

The VAPP is committed to providing a welcoming and enriching environment to all Practitioners entering its training program and courses, or who may be entering the Association from external professional arenas. The VAPP accepts that it contains a diverse community of practitioners with a common interest in Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy. The VAPP is dedicated to ensuring respect for these differences at all times and wishes to ensure that no practitioner will be discriminated against on the basis of gender, age, race, religion or sexual orientation.  The acceptance of individuals into the VAPP (Association) is on the basis of prescribed professional competencies, where there is a demonstrated level of skills, knowledge and awareness. All individuals are expected to adhere to a Code of Ethics which provides guidelines for ethical clinical practice.

The criteria for membership of the VAPP are available on this Website.

VAPP Members

  • Jacqueline Adler
  • Rhonda Attwood
  • Jeanette Beaufoy
  • Adam Becker
  • Rosalie Birkin
  • Julia Blum
  • Judi Blumenfeld Hoadley
  • Dana Branda Pawlaczyk
  • Christine Brett-Vickers
  • Ann Cebon
  • Rosslyn Chandler
  • Janet Chauvel
  • Fran Cheverton
  • Eleanor Clyne – Kingshott
  • Anne Chynoweth
  • Paul Coombe
  • Di Cronin
  • Suzanne Dean
  • Michelle Dykman
  • Robert Elston
  • Britt Farrance
  • Wayne Featherstone
  • Gabriel Feiler
  • Bridget Fitzgerald
  • Paul Foulkes
  • Gaeyle Fullerton
  • Jennifer Greenway
  • Marilyn Gross
  • Sandra Hacker
  • Kerrie Hamilton
  • Conrad Hauser
  • Moira Healy
  • Peter Heffernan
  • Melinda Hill
  • Girish Hiremath
  • Jenny Howard
  • Gabby Howse
  • Michelle Hurst
  • Anne Jeffs
  • Catherine Jamieson
  • Peter Joiner
  • Marie Karamesinis
  • Eugen Koh
  • Fiona Lacy
  • Marion Lustig
  • Neil Maizels
  • Salvatore Martino
  • Dana Maude
  • Priscilla Maxwell
  • Amelia Mitchell
  • Chili Naparstek
  • Pamela Nathan
  • Harry Nazikian
  • Vicki O’Dwyer
  • Denis O’Loughlin
  • Susan Oliver
  • Marisa Patchell
  • Anna Rappoport
  • Leonardo Rodriguez
  • Silvia A. Rodriguez
  • Nicci Rossel
  • Maria-Ines Rotmiler de Zentner
  • Helena Rymer
  • Phillip Samuel
  • Pauline Schokman
  • Allan Shafer
  • Shirley Shiff
  • Jan C. Smith
  • Margaret Stoneham
  • David Sturrock
  • Bruce Tonge
  • Paul Valent
  • Malika Verma
  • Renata Volich Eisenbruch
  • Prue Walker
  • Philip Walsh
  • Laurie West
  • Felicity Whitworth
  • Faye Wilson
  • Oscar Zentner